Beekeeper of the Year Award

Beekeeper of the Year and Pioneer Award are awards that can be won only once. Beekeeper of the Year is for a WHPA member who has contributed much to the association and the beekeeping industry. The Pioneer Award is for someone that has been a longtime beekeeper and in good standing. Other special recognition awards are for individual contributions to beekeeping and WHPA (examples: Education Award, Friendship Award, Above & Beyond). The Youth Awards recognize Wisconsin youth who are nominated for their efforts in beekeeping.

All award recipients must be nominated by WHPA members and are determined by committee made up of past Beekeeper of the Year recipients.


2014 Beekeeper of the Year
Tracy Malterer - Iron Ridge, WI


2014 Pioneer Award
Oscar & Marilyn Carlson - Onalaska


2014 Youth Awards
Aaron Saeger - Horicon; Hannah Sjostrom - Maiden Rock; Brandon Saeger - Horicon


2014 Education Award
David & Leslie Meuer - Chilton
(Unfortunately photo not available)


Past WHPA Awards